The Everyday Man songs of Sam Hui

17 06 2009

Another singer that I like who sings about the plight of the Everyday Man is Sam Hui (許冠傑).

Sam Hui1Sam Hui2

Some may think of him as a Cantonese pop superstar, but I love his earlier songs in the 1970s and early 80s. Like the Hokkien songs singers in Taiwan, Sam Hui’s early songs were about the man on the street, trying to make a living in the chaotic and dog-eat-dog place  known as Hong Kong. But he sings in a comedic way which I find fascinating and warming as well. Whenever I think of Sam Hui, it will always remind me of Singapore director Han Yew Kuang. I love his brand of comedy, and I think it is very down to earth, similar to Sam Hui.

Here are some of my favourite songs from Sam Hui, do they sound familiar? You must have heard it somewhere before 🙂 (click on them to listen)

半斤八兩 – This is a classic! Anyone who have worked before will be able to relate!

雙星倩歌 – A poetic love song like a cantonese opera

天才與白痴 – The most use of 鬼 & 仔 in a song I have heard. Also one of the 1st instances of cantonese rap!

浪子心聲 – One of my favourites!


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2009
Freeman

These songs are great Love these songs, i heard a few of them before. I tried to find them on you tube but you have it all here, much props!! Sam Hui is a great singer in deed.

12 11 2011
whatsaysyou

As a Sam Hui fan, I grew up on his music and films and they never failed to leave me smiling today despite the fact I am not a Cantonese speaker. He is talented and cool.

Leave a comment